« April 2014 »
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat


Principal for a Day


Three business leaders, Doug Hamburger, Walgreens; John Fugate, Commercial Bank; and Penny Owens, City of Knoxville, visited with Principal Becky Ashe (standing far right) at L&N STEM Academy during Principal for a Day.

 Knox County Schools Hosts “Principal for a Day”
Chief David Rausch, Knoxville Police Department,
visited classrooms and interacted with students
at Vine Middle Magnet School.
Knox County Mayor Tim Burchett served as
Principal for a Day at Farragut Middle
School and interacted with art students
as they were creating self-portraits.
Nearly 80 Knox County business and community leaders spent much of the day back in the classroom - and the principal’s office - through the Knox County Schools Principal for a Day program on Thursday, Nov. 21. 

Guest “principals” shadow principals, observe classrooms and engage in school events to increase their awareness of the challenges and successes of public education.

This initiative, outlined in the Knox County Schools Strategic Plan entitled Excellence for All Children, brings together a broad range of government, civic, non-profit, community and business leaders to participate in a half-day experience with school principals at more than 50 schools.  Most began their day as the students arrived at the schools then spent time meeting with school administrators, visiting classrooms, interacting with support staff and experiencing the life of a school from inside the school walls.
Principal for a Day participants then attended a luncheon/feedback session with Dr. Jim McIntyre, Superintendent of the Knox County Schools, to learn more about the school district’s successes and challenges and share their experiences from the day.  The luncheon was held at the Sarah Simpson Professional Development Center, 801 Tipton Avenue.


Guest “principals” Sheriff JJ Jones, Knox County Sheriff’s Office, and Kristina Howard, Knoxville TVA Employees Credit Union, take a moment with Central High School student Mark Pozega during Principal for a Day.

Business and community leaders who participated in Principal for a Day were joined by the principals they shadowed and Dr. Jim McIntyre, Superintendent, in a debrief luncheon and shared their impressions of their time in the schools.

 2013 Participants

Heath  Lowe Walgreens A.L. Lotts ES
Lisa Hurst President & CEO, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Tennessee Valley Adrian Burnett ES
Nick  Love Walgreens Austin-East HS
Bryan Pate Walgreens Ball Camp ES
Tony  Monasmith Walgreens Bearden ES
Foster Arnett Knox County Clerk Bearden HS
Alex  Widmer District Manager for Orange Leaf Frozen Yogurt Bearden HS
Alan Hill Regional Director Bearden MS
Chris Cook Walgreens Belle Morris ES
Tracy Morrow Executive Director, Junior League of Knoxville Blue Grass ES
Chris Caldwell Senior Director of Finance, Knox County Carter ES
Les Fout Pellissippi State Carter HS
Christy Moreno News Director, WBIR-TV Cedar Bluff ES
Karen Pershing Executive Director/Metropolitan Drug Commission Cedar Bluff MS
J J  Jones Knox County Sheriff Central HS
Kristina  Howard Knoxville TVA Employees Credit Union Central HS
Lisa New Exc.Dir/Knoxville Zoo Chilhowee IS
Cory White Walgreens Dogwood ES
Craig Leuthold Knox County Trustee Farragut HS
Justin Collake Major Accounts Manager-Govt, Verizon Wireless Farragut HS
Merritt Garner Walgreens Farragut HS
Kristen Trent Farragut/Knox County Education Relations Committee Farragut IS
Chance Martin Walgreens Farragut IS
Ron  Honken Alderman, Town of Farragut Farragut PS
Billy Bell Walgreens Farragut PS
Katie Stringer Executive Director, Blount Mansion Fountain City ES
Robert  Courtney Walgreens Gibbs ES
Jerry Harnish Regional Director, Rural/Metro Fire and Emergency Medical Services Gibbs HS
Jerry Hodges Executive Director, Project GRAD Knoxville Gibbs HS
Lisa Bower Walgreens Gresham MS
Bill Dunn State Representative Gresham MS
Alison Travis Knoxville Zoo Halls ES
Selena Jackson Walgreens Halls HS
Lauri Figueroa Campus President, Virginia College School of Business and Health Hardin Valley Acad
Becky Dodson Vice President, Tennova Healthcare Hardin Valley Acad
Sharon Stewart Director, Customer Care U.S.Cellular Hardin Valley ES
Chuck  Yates Walgreens Holston MS
Russell Byrd Senior Director Government Affairs, Comcast Holston MS
Tanya Coats President, KCEA Inskip ES
Rep. Roger Kane State Representative Karns HS
David Yoder New Horizons Computer Learning Center High School Admissions Representative Karns HS+Byington
Jeff Smits Walgreens Karns MS
Sandra Rowcliffe President, Knox County Council PTA Karns MS
Doug  Hamburger Walgreens L&N STEM
Penny Owens Contract Manager City of Knoxville L&N STEM
Grant Standefer Executive Director, Compassion Coalition Maynard ES
Andy Rittenhouse Pastor Maynard ES
Mike Brown Commissioner Mooreland Hts ES
Curtis Lundy Walgreens New Hopewell ES
Sandy  Monasmith Walgreens Northshore ES
Vickie Lawson CEO Northwest MS
David Lord Senior Pastor, Bookwalter United Methodist Church Norwood ES
Mike Goin Walgreens Pleasant Ridge ES
Tom Householder Home Depot Powell HS
John Tidwell Walgreens Powell HS
Harry  Brooks Representative Ritta ES
Jennifer Smith Walgreens Rocky Hill ES
Ellie Kittrell Interim Executive Director, East TN Discovery Center Sarah Moore Greene ES
Darren Amador Walgreens Sequoyah ES
Jeff Lee WBIR-TV      PRES/GM Sequoyah ES
Sherry Witt Register of Deeds Shannondale ES
Trina  McMahan Marketing Director, Papa Murphy's  South Knox ES
Stephanie Welch VP of Operations for Community Schools, The Great Schools Partnership South Knox ES
Mike Hammond County Commission  South-Doyle HS
Bob Wooldridge Captain/Safety EducationUnit/Knoxville Police Department South-Doyle MS
Eric Palmer High School Pastor South-Doyle MS
Natalie Johnson Branch Manager, Knoxville TVA Employees Credit Union Sterchi ES
Carolyn Shackelford Branch Manager, Knoxville TVA Employees Credit Union Sterchi ES
Markus Jackson Boys & Girls Club Sunnyview PS
David Rausch Chief of Police/Knoxville Police Department Vine Middle Magnet
Mike  Parker Walgreens West Haven ES
Ed Shouse Knox County Commissioner West HS
Greg  Mangan Owner, Drive 4 Life Academy, Inc. West HS
Todd Napier President & CEO / The Development Corporation of Knox County West Valley MS
Phil Claxton Summer School of the South West Valley MS
Joe Walsh Director, City of Knoxville Parks and Recreation Department Whittle Springs MS
Tim Burchett Mayor, Knox County Farragut MS

Department Web Pages

Contact Webmaster | Site Map | Privacy Policy | View "printer-friendly" page | Login   In Japanese  In Korean  En français  Auf Deutsch  In italiano   No português  En español  In Russian  
Site powered by SchoolFusion.com © 2014 - Educational website content management